What is it about?

The Alpine conference is a high-level international forum for the discussion of recent developments and applications in the field of magnetic resonance in solids. The conference focuses on novel concepts, methods and instrumentation, as well as applications in fields including physics, chemistry, biology and materials science. Beyond its original and still core focus on solid-state NMR, from 2019 the Alpine Conference welcomes contributions from EPR and MRI in solids.

Conference Program

Pre-conference tutorials: 09:00-12:30 Sun 14th September. Early registration for tutorial participants at 08:30 (am).

Start: Registration from 16:00 on Sun 14th September. Sunday dinner at 19:30 in the conference center, Le Majestic. First talk 08:30 Mon 15th September.

End: The last session will finish at 12:30 on Thu 18th September.

  • A tutorial/”cheat sheet” session aimed at early career researchers, but open to everyone, will take place on the first morning (Sunday 14th). The aim of the tutorials is to aid people to follow talks outside of their immediate field, e.g. for a “materials” person to follow “bio” talks and vice versa.
  • The detailed program will available when conference starts. A couple of days before the start log into the Participant Area to see your individualised program (use the “Participant Area” button in the top right corner of the website).
  • The main program of the conference will consist of plenary lectures and contributed communications, with round table sessions. See Info for Presenters for information on the format and requirements for the various types of presentation.
  • A number of social events have been prepared to liven up the Alpine Conference. There is free time on Tuesday afternoon to enjoy the alpine scenery, and the Banquet on Wednesday evening.
  • A Perspective session is planned for Tuesday.

Scientific Committee (2025)

Sharon Ashbrook

Songi Han

Patrick van der Wel


Following a generally enthusiastic to successful runs during previous Alpine Conference editions, we will run round-table sessions instead of the poster sessions. Each participant will have the opportunity to discuss his or her work with a selected audience, after a brief introductory talk. See Info for presenters. Before the conference starts, every participant will be asked to vote for the abstracts that they would like to learn about, and the program of the roundtable sessions will be built from their choice. There will be two prizes for the best round tables by students or postdocs based on a popular vote.