Awards Archive

Caldarelli Prize in Magnetic Resonance for Young Investigators

Since 2019, the Caldarelli Prize Lecture is aiming to recognize the contribution of young scientists who made a personal and recent ground-breaking contribution to the field of magnetic resonance in solids. Scientists are eligible within 10 years after completing their Ph.D. degree.


Dr Fréderic A. Perras

Ames National Laboratory, USA

Prize lecture: From DNP fundamentals to plastic upcycling and everywhere in between

Citation: Fréderic A. Perras is recognized for his rigorous, original, and creative contributions to fundamental and applied aspects of solid-state NMR, including dynamic nuclear polarization (DNP) and the application of solid-state NMR to study the structure of inorganic materials and catalysts. This prize acknowledges Fred’s insightful contributions to both experimental and theoretical aspects.



Dr Ashok Ajoy

U. C. Berkeley

New avenues with hyperpolarized nuclei: quantum sensing, time-crystals, and spin-tracking

Citation: Ashok has performed pioneering work on quantum-enhanced NMR and MRI to generate new analytical tools on-chip or on the benchtop. His activities include efforts to develop miniaturizable NMR probes, innovative hyperpolarization methodology, and the study of nanoscale spin dynamics. This work provides novel types of measurement modalities, and also allows the elucidation of new nanoscale and quantum phenomena.



Dr Aaron Rossini

Iowa State University

New Approaches for DNP-Enhanced Solid-State NMR of Inorganic Surfaces and Bulk Materials

Citation: The prize was awarded for his outstanding and broad impact contributions to the field of magnetic resonance in solids.

Regitze R. Vold Memorial Prize Lecture

Since 2019, the Vold Memorial Prize Lecture is awarded for an outstanding contribution in magnetic resonance selected by the Scientific Committee.


Prof. Rob Schurko

Florida State University & NHMFL, Tallahassee USA

Citation: Rob Schurko has made a large number of important contributions to the field of solid-state NMR over the past 25 years. His research interests are very diverse, and he has made particularly impactful discoveries in the areas of quadrupolar nuclei and applications to pharmaceuticals. He contributed to the development of several useful broad-band pulse sequences and related techniques which have enabled the routine acquisition of ultrawide-line NMR spectra. His ongoing work on crystal structure prediction using novel NMR crystallography methods holds promise for the characterization of novel crystal forms used in the pharmaceutical industry.




Prof. Tatyana Polenova

University of Delaware

Citation: Tatayana has contributed to shaping protein solid-state NMR from the very beginning. She has achieved some of the most important mile stones in this field, starting from sequential assignments of one of the first protein samples measured, to advanced recent concepts like fast magic angle spinning and dynamic nuclear polarization. Besides her outstanding contributions to science, she is centrally taking part in the life of NMR, being always supportive and enthusiastic of initiatives to further develop the field, encouraging young scientists, organizing meetings, promoting knowledge transfer, and beyond.



Dr Melanie Rosay

Bruker BioSpin

Optimization of Sample Irradiation and Opportunities for Low Power DNP at 263 GHz

Citation: The prize was awarded for her outstanding scientific and technological contributions and, specifically, enabling the broad applications of commercial DNP technology worldwide.

Regitze R. Vold Memorial Prize Lecture​

From 2007 to 2017, the Regitze R. Vold Memorial Prize Lecture was awarded to an outstanding contribution by a younger scientist selected from the abstracts contributed to the conference.


Dr. Björn Corzilius

Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main

Novel Mechanisms Of Polarization Propagation Under MAS DNP


Prof. Leonard J. Mueller

Department of Chemistry,
University of California

Bridging Microscopic Structural Rearrangement and Macroscopic Motion with NMR Crystallography


Doctor Gaël De Paëpe

Commissariat à l’Energie Atomique et aux Energies Alternatives,
Institut Nanosciences et Cryogénie

Achieving Large Absolute Sensitivity For Solid-State NMR With Dynamic Nuclear Polarization: Matrix-Free Samples And Ultra-Low Temperatures


Doctor Amir Goldbourt

Tel Aviv University

Recoupling of Heteronuclear Dipolar Interaction Using Non-Adiabatic, Low Amplitude RF Fields: Theory and Applications to a Spin-1/2 Paired With Any Non-Integer Spin


Professor Sophia Hayes

Washington University

A New Model of Optically-Pumped NMR in Direct-Gap Semiconductors


Professor Christopher Jaroniec

The Ohio State University

Long Range Structural Restraints in Spin Labeled Proteins Probed by Solid-State NMR Spectroscopy

Poster Prize

From 1999 to 2005, the Prize was awarded to the best poster presented by a student.


Marica Cutajar

The Study of Motion Using 2H Double-Quantum MAS NMR

by Marica Cutajar, Sharon E Ashbrook and Stephen Wimperis

Department Of Chemistry, University Of Exeter,
and Department Of Earth Sciences, University Of Cambridge, United Kingdom


Luminita Duma

Resolution Enhancement in Solid-State NMR of Proteins
Using Spin-State-Selective Techniques

by Sabine Hediger, Luminita Duma, Bernhard Brutscher, Anja Böckmann,
Anne Lesage, and Lyndon Emsley

Ecole Normale Supérieure de Lyon, France


Almut Rapp

Probing Structure and Dynamics of Supramolecular Systems
by 1H-13C Recoupled Polarization Transfer MAS NMR Spectroscopy

by Almut Rapp, Ingo Schnell, Steven P. Brown and Hans Wolfgang Spiess

Max Planck Institut für Polymerforschung, Mainz, Germany